Collection of Coins of the Qarakhanid

Qarakhanid Khanate 1006 AD


   The Kara-Khanid Khanate (Persian: قراخانیان‎, romanized: Qarākhāniyān), also known as the Karakhanids Qarakhanids, Ilek Khanids or the Afrasiabids (Persian: آل افراسیاب‎, romanized: Āl-i Afrāsiyāb, lit. 'House of Afrasiab'), was a Turkic khanate that ruled Central Asia in the 9th through the early 13th century. The dynastic names of Karakhanids and Ilek Khanids refer to royal titles with Kara Kağan being the most important Turkic title up till the end of the dynasty.
   The Khanate conquered Transoxania in Central Asia and ruled it between 999–1211. Their arrival in Transoxania signaled a definitive shift from Iranian to Turkic predominance in Central Asia, yet the Kara-khanids gradually assimilated the Perso-Arab Muslim culture, while retaining some of their native Turkic culture.
   The capitals of the Kara-Khanid Khanate included Kashgar, Balasagun, Uzgen and Samarkand. In the 1040s, the Khanate split into the Eastern and Western Khanates. In the late 11th century, they came under the suzerainty of the Seljuks, followed by the Kara-Khitans in the mid-12th century. The Eastern Khanate was ended by the Kara-Khitans in 1211. The Western Khanate was extinguished by the Khwarazmian dynasty in 1213.

 993-1012 AD   Nasr ibn Ali  
994-1016 AD   Ahmad ibn Ali  
1003-1024 AD   Muhammad ibn Ali  
1004-1006 & 1012-1014 AD   Yusuf ibn Abd Allah  
1013-1027 AD   al-Husayn ibn al-Hasan  
1020-1025 AD   Ali ibn al-Hasan  
1020-1055 AD   Muhammad ibn Nasr  
1025-1035 AD   Sulayman ibn Harun  
1030-1057 AD   Muhammad ibn Yusuf  

Qarakhanid Vassals

1009 AD   Salar ibn Muhammad  

   Islamic Kingdoms